Tourismkeeper': Government to offer cut-price flights to boost tourism

author-avatar By
on March 11, 2021
Tourismkeeper': Government to offer cut-price flights to boost tourism

A new support package worth $1.2 billion will include half-price airline tickets in an effort to boost struggling tourism hotspots.

BREAKING: Darwin has been added to the list of eligible half-price flight destinations. More details to follow.

Approximately 800,000 half-price airline tickets will be up for grabs, across 13 key tourism regions. 

The discounts will be off the 'average' fare, and will be available on airline websites, such as Qantas, Virgin, and Jetstar, from 1 April to 31 July.

Targeted regions include:

  • Gold Coast
  • Cairns
  • The Whitsundays
  • Mackay (Prosperine and Hamilton Island)
  • Sunshine Coast
  • Lasseter and Alice Springs
  • Launceston
  • Devenport
  • Burnie
  • Broome
  • Avalon
  • Merimbula
  • Kangaroo Island

However, the discounted flights to each destination will be restricted to particular routes. Brisbane residents, in particular, have only two half-price routes on offer from Brisbane airport - to Launceston, and Alice Springs. More below:

Discounted routes available include:

Gold Coast

  • Adelaide – Gold Coast
  • Melbourne – Gold Coast
  • Sydney – Gold Coast
  • Canberra – Gold Coast
  • Avalon – Gold Coast

Tropical North Queensland

  • Melbourne – Cairns
  • Sydney – Cairns
  • Darwin – Cairns

Whitsundays and Mackay region

  • Sydney – Proserpine
  • Sydney – Hamilton Island

Sunshine Coast

  • Sydney – Maroochydore
  • Melbourne – Maroochydore
  • Adelaide – Maroochydore

Lasseter and Alice Springs

  • Adelaide – Alice Springs
  • Sydney – Uluru
  • Brisbane – Alice Springs
  • Melbourne – Alice Springs
  • Perth – Alice Springs
  • Sydney – Alice Springs
  • Brisbane – Uluru
  • Melbourne – Uluru

Launceston, Devonport and Burnie

  • Melbourne – Launceston
  • Sydney – Launceston
  • Brisbane – Launceston
  • Melbourne – Devonport
  • Melbourne – Burnie


  • Darwin – Broome
  • Sydney – Broome
  • Melbourne – Broome

Avalon (Victoria)

  • Gold Coast – Avalon
  • Sydney – Avalon

Merimbula (New South Wales)

  • Melbourne – Merimbula

Kangaroo Island (South Australia)

  • Adelaide – Kingscote

Exact details on flights, routes, and the total number of tickets will be demand-driven and up to the airlines' discretion.

This comes after the Queensland Government announced $200 travel vouchers to those travelling within the state.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison said the package will help affected tourism regions "get back to normal trading".

“This package will take more tourists to our hotels and cafes, taking tours and exploring our backyard," he said.

"That means more jobs and investment for the tourism and aviation sectors as Australia heads towards winning our fight against COVID-19 and the restrictions that have hurt so many businesses.”

Photo by Marcel Wiemers on Unsplash

Latest Articles

Harrison is's Assistant Editor. Prior to joining Savings in January 2020, he worked for some of Australia's largest comparison sites and media organisations. With a keen interest in the economy, housing policy, and personal finance, Harrison strives to deliver and edit news and guides that are engaging, thought-provoking, and simple to read.


Be Savings smart.
Subscribe for free money newsletters.

By subscribing you agree
to the Savings Privacy Policy